POSTPONED! Expungement Clinic on January 23rd in Montgomery County!
Maryland Expungement/Shielding Laws took effect October 1, 2015
HEAR ONE WOMAN'S STORY
Click the button below to access resources and workshop information:
Montgomery County Paid Sick Leave Bill Signed Into Law
Photo Credit: Somos_CASA
On July 2, 2015, Montgomery County Executive Ike Leggett signed into law one of the nation’s strongest paid sick days statutes. He was joined by US DOL Secretary Thomas Perez and members of the Maryland Working Matters Coalition.
The Montgomery County measure, which will go into effect on October 1, 2016 is expected to benefit more than 100,000 workers. Workers at Montgomery County businesses with 5 or more employees will earn one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked, up to 56 hours (7 days) annually. Workers in smaller businesses with less than 5 employees will also earn 7 days (4 paid and 3 unpaid). The bill applies to part-time workers who regularly work at least 8 hours per week.
Workers can use their paid sick time to care for themselves or a member of their family. The safe time provision ensures that victims of domestic violence or sexual assault can use paid leave to obtain medical attention and victims services. Employees who are laid off will have their previously accumulated time reinstated if they are rehired within 9 months.
To date four states and 20 cities or counties have enacted paid sick days measures. You can keep up with the Maryland Campaign for Paid Sick Days by liking Working Matters on Facebook, following us on Twitter, or signing up to receive alerts.